Springbok team to face Namibia

Written by kobus. Posted in Rugby World Cup 2011, Rugby World Cup 2011 News

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Published on September 20, 2011 with No Comments

The springbok team to face Namibia has been announced. P Divvy made 5 changes from the team that beat Fiji. I’m glad to see that he decided to rest a few players, I’m also glad that Chilliboy and Juan de Jongh are in the squad, but I would’ve preffered them to be in the starting XV instead of John Smit and maybe Jaque Fourie. Aplon also gets a run in an exciting backline that should run the mostly amateur Namibian  side ragged.

Due to Ireland’s victory over Australia over the weekend, the Springboks will have a mighty tough road to the final and they cannot afford to have any more injuries that they already have. Danie Rossouw probably deserves a rest, but there is so not many options left standing on lock. They could rather have started Alberts at lock with Francois Louw starting at 6. Now we’re going into the game without a specialist fetcher in the starting XV but two sitting on the bench. That sounds like a bit of indecision in the management team.

At least if everyone gets a run the whole squad would have been utilised within the first 3 games. That’ll give everyone a sense that they belong at the World Cup and should do wonders for the team spirit. Its never a good situation when a few guys feel they’re only holding tackle bags.

Barring anymore injuries the Springboks should field the same team they intend to possibly play the Wallabies in the next game against Samoa. They need to get some momentum in all the core combinations before getting to the business end of the competition.

South Africa:
15 Pat Lambie, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Willem Alberts, 5 Danie Rossouw, 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), Gurthro Steenkamp.

Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Francois Louw, 19 Heinrich Brüssow, 20 Fourie du Preez, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 Juan de Jongh.

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Springbok team to face Namibia. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment