Champions League Twenty20 2011 Teams : CLT20 Cricket

Written by admin. Posted in Champions League Twenty 20 2011, Cricket

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Published on September 04, 2011 with No Comments

It that time of year again when the top T20 club sides clash for the Champions League Twenty20 Trophy to be crowned the number 1 twenty over side in the world. With the Chennai Super Kings dominating the 2011 IPL tournament, they will be aiming to hit their straps and retain the Champions League trophy that they won in 2010.

What is Champions League Twenty20?

Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) is an initiative of the Board of Control for Cricket in India, Cricket Australia and Cricket South Africa that brings together the best domestic clubs from across the world in a battle for Twenty20 honours. The inaugural competition featured 12 sides from seven nations and was held in October 2009 in India. New South Wales Blues, the side from Australia led by Simon Katich, emerged winners of the tournament. In 2010, CLT20 moved to South Africa where 10 sides from six nations locked horns at four venues. IPL 2010 winners Chennai Super Kings, led by MS Dhoni, reigned supreme after a fortnight of top notch competition.

This year, CLT20 returns to India with a pre-tournament qualifier making it possible for more teams than ever to be part of the race for the title. CLT20 2011 will follow the same format as 2010 and will be held in Bengaluru, Chennai and Kolkata from September 23 to October 9. Before the tournament kicks off, six teams will face off in a qualifier in Hyderabad from September 19-21. The three top teams from here will join seven already confirmed teams making it a 10-team tournament.

Which teams will participate in CLT20 2011?

Seven high-calibre teams have already been invited to participate – South Australian Redbacks and NSW Blues from Australia, Warriors and Cape Cobras from South Africa, as well as the top three sides from the 2011 IPL, Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Mumbai Indians.

The seven teams that have already qualified are among the elite domestic T20 line-ups in the world. Each has competed in previous CLT20 tournaments, and with the exception of Mumbai Indians, all have reached the semifinal stage or better in the first two years of this tournament. The lineups already contain the 2009 (NSW Blues) and 2010 (Chennai Super Kings) champions and 2010 Runners-Up (Warriors), proving CLT20 is a true reflection of the world’s elite domestic T20 teams.

Champions League Twenty20 Teams

The final teams that will compete in the CLT20 2011 tournament are:

  • Auckland Aces
  • Cape Cobras
  • Warriors
  • Somerset
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Royal Challenger Bangalore
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Trinidad & Tobago
  • Leicestershire Foxes
  • New South Wales Blues
  • South Australian Redbacks
  • Ruhunu Eleven

No Comments

There are currently no comments on Champions League Twenty20 2011 Teams : CLT20 Cricket. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment