ICC Awards 2011

Written by kobus. Posted in Cricket

Tagged: , , ,

Published on September 13, 2011 with No Comments

Last night was the most prestigious awards regarding international cricket. The event was held in London to recognise the major individual and team achievements in world cricket.

The nominations for most of the awards will be made by a five-man  panel chaired  by West Indies legend Clive Lloyd. The panel also includes former South African bowler Paul Adams, former England captain Michael Atherton, former Pakistan batsman Zaheer Abbas and former New Zealand bowler Danny Morrison. The nomination of those individual awards will be voted upon by a 25 strong panel of renowned former players, respected members of the media, and an elite umpire and an elite match referee.

South African ( Yes I had to add that) born English player Jonathan Trott received ICC’ top award last night as ICC Cricketer of the year. This award looks at the performance of the player over ODI’s as well as tests. For tests Trott scored 1042 runs with an average of 65.12 and for ODI’s he scored 1064 runs averaging at 48.36.

Jonathan Trott with his ICC Cricketer of the year award

“It’s fantastic to be part of a successful team and I never envisaged winning this award. It’s a brilliant feeling to be recognised,” Trott said.

Trott’s teammate Alastair Cook won title of Top Test Cricketer of the year. He scored 1302 runs with an average of 51.74. His average might not be as good as Trott’s but Cook was one the main reasons England was the Ashes in Australia in 2010.  I must admit, Jacques Kallis might feel a bit disappointed not to receive this award. After his performance against India in South Africa, he reached “Superhero” status among South African fans.

Kumar Sangakkara received the award for ODI Cricketer of the year. His batting average was 55.21 and scored 1049 runs. this is the only award which I was really disappointed about. His average was less than quite a few players namely:

  • Shane Watson
  • Michael Clarke
  • Hashim Amla

See the stats here

I guess they kept in mind that Sangakkara was captain and wicketkeeper as well and took a few stumpings too. Nevertheless I feel that Hashim should’ve received it. Sangakkara also picked up the People’s Choice Award. This award was chosen by cricket fans around the world who voted  for their favourite player on-line from a short-list of five cricketers who was selected by the ICC selection panel. My guess is this award more often than not gets awarded to a player from the subcontinent as they have the most fans.

MS Dhoni received the award for Spirit of Cricket Accolade for his decision to recall Ian Bell after his controversial run-out during the Trent Bridge Test. I watched that game and Ian Bell was out and Dhoni could’ve let him stay out. I’m not a big fan of Dhoni but he showed good character by recalling Bell. If there was a “Supid Moment of the year” award, Bell would’ve received it with no doubt in my mind!

The rest of the awards can be seen below:

  • Emerging Player Award – Devendra Bishoo (WI)
  • ICC Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year  – Ryan ten Doeschate (NED)
  • Twenty20 International Performance of the Year – Tim Southee (NZL) for his performance of 5 for 18 against Pakistan
  • Umpire of the year – Aleem Dar (PAK). Quite interesting that he beat Australian Simon Taufel. I’m a big fan of Simon Taufel. If he says a batsmen is out, then he is out. No questions.
  • ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year – Stafanie Taylor (WI






No Comments

There are currently no comments on ICC Awards 2011. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment