The Chosen Ones: Springbok World Cup Squad

Written by leon. Posted in Rugby, Rugby World Cup 2011, Rugby World Cup 2011 Squads, Springboks, Teams

Published on August 23, 2011 with No Comments


So we’ve had a few predictions this week as to who will make the Squad here, here and here… So who got it right? The Squad has just been announced and here they are:

ForwardsGüthro Steenkamp, Beast MtawariraJannie du Plessis, CJ van der Linde, John Smit (c), Bismarck du Plessis, Chiliboy RalepelleVictor Matfiled (vc), Bakkies Botha,  Danie Rossouw, Schalk Burger, Heinrich Brüssow, Pierre Spies, Willem Alberts, Johann Muller  and Francois Louw.

Backs: Fourie du Preez, Francois HougaardRuan PienaarMorné SteynButch James, Patrick LambieJean de Villiers, Jacque FourieJuan de JonghBryan Habana, JP Pietersen, Frans SteynGio Aplon and Odwa Ndungane.

Wow, few surprises there. Some have been predicted in the media this week. Never thought Francois Louw who seemed out of favor with de Villiers would get the nod ahead of Ashley Johnson and Jean Deysel. I think Brussow’s fetching on the weekend bought Louw a place.

Ndungane above Mvovo, and Muller ahead of Mostert and van der Merwe. Guess de Villiers is trusting in even more experience. Lets just hope it all pays off.

No Comments

There are currently no comments on The Chosen Ones: Springbok World Cup Squad. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment